School Garden Certification

 

P Carrot SCHOOL GARDEN CERTIFICATION

HomepageImage2Over 185 area schools are engaged in school gardening (orange carrots on home page) In most of these schools, 1 or 2 teachers or staff lead gardening efforts as an activity implemented as time allows.  Principal and teacher turnover often leave schools without a garden leader and gardens become fallow.

Sustainable school gardening and outdoor learning requires integration into the curriculum, incorporation of nutrition education and an annual gardening strategy. This is the purpose of Green Teacher Network Certified School Garden Program (PURPLE CARROT).

August 2015 thirteen Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools began their year-long journey become our first PURPLE CARROT schools. They met with our leadership team to receive all supplies, demonstrations and curriculum to plant, tend and harvest a Fall and a Spring Garden.  After the harvest area chefs join them for tastings which focus on increased awareness of healthy fruits and vegetables (many served in school cafeterias).

Billingsville Media SpecialistThe class of 2015/2016 is:

West
River Oaks Academy – Principal Marilyn Osborne – LEAD TEACER: Angel Fleming
Oakdale Elementary – Principal Kimberly Alexander kimberly.alexander@cms.k12.nc.us – LEAD TEACHER/PARENT ADVOCATE: Ricky Martin ricky1.martin@cms.k12.nc.us 
Paw Creek Elementary – Principal Danielle Belton – LEAD TEACHER: Pam Petry
Reid Park Elementary – Principal James Garvin j.garvin@cms.k12.nc.us – LEAD TEACHER: Wyanette Williams
Tuckaseegee Elementary – Principal Rhonda Gomez   rhonda.gomez@cms.k12.nc.us – LEAD TEACHER: Joyce Newman
Whitewater Academy – Principal Lauren Bloom – LEAD TEACHER: Kameron Moebes
Northeast
Winterfield Elementary – Principal Angela Grant angela.grant@cms.k12.nc.us – LEAD TEACHER: Amethyst Klein supported by Anna Helms Kennington, Communities in Schools
South
Lake Wylie Elementary – Principal Brooklyn Hough – LEAD TEACHER: Cynthia Dey 
Palisades Elementary (new school) – Principal Gina O’Hare – LEAD TEACHER:  Dianne Byars
Southeast
Pinewood Elementary – Principal Natasha Pegram – LEAD TEAHER: Victoria Gorman, Supported by Charles Diman community volunteer
Southwest
Berryhill Elementary K-8 – Principal Cara Heath – LEAD TEACHER: Suzanne Beckman, also serves as curriculum coordinator
East
Idlewild Elementary – Principal Larenda Denien larenda.denien@cms.k12.nc.us – LEAD TEACHER: Cynthia Christian
Central
Billingsville Elementary – Principal Michelle Johnson michelleg.johnson@cms.k12.nc.us – LEAD TEACHER:   Amanda Saunders Supported by Katherine Forney, Garden Club

Billingsville - Garden with Children

With 15% engagement at each school – impact is 88 teachers and 2,500 students

 


Support Team:

Garden Coordinator – Jeffie Hardin jhardin@GTNCharlotte.org 704-877-8713
Executive Director – Edna Chirico echirico@GTNCharlotte.org 704-562-8847
Social Media Coordinator – Melissa Lefko mlefko@GTNCharlotte.org
Lesson Plan Development – Suzanne Beckman suzanne.parsons@cms.k12.nc.us
Food Access Liaison – Eliott Royal Elliott.Royal@mecklenburgcountync.gov
Horticulture Specialist – Stephanie Anderson stephanie.anderson@cms.k12.nc.us
Curriculum Connection Matrix – Alisa Wickliff abwickli@uncc.edu
Charlotte Mecklenburg Food Policy – Erin Brighton cltfoodpolicy@yahoo.com